search icon
Dvořák: Slavonic Dance, Op. 46 No. 8 – 2016 Shen Yun Symphony Orchestra

2016 Shen Yun Symphony Orchestra


Raucous, rousing melodies conjure the rolling highlands of Bohemia. It was there that Dvořák found inspiration for his Slavonic Dances, the first set of which propelled him to international fame. Originally written in 1878 for piano four hands, and later rearranged for orchestra, the eight dances of Op. 46 have since become some of the composer’s most celebrated works. While Brahms’s Hungarian Dances provided a degree of inspiration, Dvořák’s melodies were not based on extant folk melodies. He instead incorporated traditional dance rhythms, pulsing with vigor and vitality, and shifting suddenly in mood and character. The Furiant Bohemian dance tune of No. 8 sweeps listeners through a whirlwind of fire and sound.

Shen Yun Performing Arts is the world’s premier classical Chinese dance and music company.

Shen Yun Creations are available at

Follow ShenYunCreations on social media:



Read More