search icon
Saint-Saëns: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso

2016 Shen Yun Symphony Orchestra


This popular showpiece, written in 1863, was the second that the French Saint-Saëns dedicated to the Spanish violin virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate. In 1867, Sarasate premiered it in Paris with Saint-Saëns himself conducting. As implied in the title, the piece is in two sections. The brief Introduction is dominated by a reflective violin melody, interspersed with short and rapidly animated passages. The longer Rondo follows almost immediately, with a Spanish flair reminiscent of the Gypsy (Roma) world of southern Spain. Originally composed as the finale for the Saint-Saëns Violin Concerto No. 1, the piece is widely regarded as a hallmark of violin virtuosity.

Shen Yun Performing Arts is the world’s premier classical Chinese dance and music company.

Shen Yun Creations are available at

Follow ShenYunCreations on social media:



Read More