When Does Spring Start? Spring Equinox 2014 Date Coming Up

March 19, 2014 Updated: July 18, 2015

The Spring Equinox is supposed to mark the official arrival of spring.

This year, the equinox falls on March 20. 

While it marks the arrival of spring in the Northern Hemisphere, it marks the arrival of fall in the Southern Hemisphere.

It’s also known as the March Equinox and the Vernal Equinox.

The exact moment of the equinox will be at 16:57 UTC. That’s when the sun crosses the equator going from south to north. 

That would be 9:57 a.m. PST, 11:57 a.m. CST, and 12:57 p.m. EST.

The event happens during the Earth’s orbit around the sun and simultaneously on the imaginary dome of our sky. The equator is an imaginary line drawn right around Earth’s middle, like a belt. It divides Earth into the Northern Hemisphere and the Southern Hemisphere., explains NASA. At the equinox, the sun crosses the celestial equator, to enter the sky’s northern hemisphere.

The Earth makes a complete revolution around the sun once every 365 days. The National Weather Service explains that the Northern Hemisphere is tilted toward the sun in June and away from the sun in December. The equinox marks the beginning of the tilt back toward the sun.

Copyright 1999 J. Hacker/M. Fuhs

(NOAA)

 

 

Follow Zachary on Twitter: @zackstieber