Seventy-Two California Officials Welcome Shen Yun Back to the Bay Area

By Epoch Newsroom
Epoch Newsroom
Epoch Newsroom
December 26, 2016 Updated: December 26, 2016

Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi joined three other members of Congress and 66 other elected officials from the San Francisco area in welcoming Shen Yun Performing Arts to San Francisco. The company, whose mission is to revive China’s traditional culture, will offer nine performances Dec. 31 – Jan. 8 at the War Memorial Opera House.

“I am delighted to welcome you back to San Francisco to celebrate your 10th anniversary and to mesmerize audiences with your spectacular performances,” Pelosi wrote. “Your mission to revive traditional Chinese dance and music enhances our knowledge and appreciation of China’s ancient and sweeping cultural history.”

San Francisco is only one stop on Shen Yun’s tenth annual world tour. Based in New York, Shen Yun has five companies that tour the world simultaneously.

“Thank you for your dedication to promoting cultural diversity and understanding over the past decade,” wrote Congresswoman Anna Eshoo (CA 18th District). Jared Huffman (CA 2nd District) and Doris Matsui (CA 6th District) also wrote welcome letters.

In a Shen Yun performance, stories and legends from China’s 5,000-year-old culture are brought to life through classical Chinese dance and a live orchestra that combines Eastern and Western musical traditions. The dance pieces embody traditional Chinese values such as benevolence and respect for the divine.

Shen Yun has also received welcome letters or proclamations from three California state senators; six state assemblymen; and mayors, vice mayors, councilmembers, and supervisors from several San Francisco Bay Area cities and counties.

Shen Yun will also perform four shows at the Center for the Performing Arts in San Jose Jan. 13–15, three shows in Sacramento Jan. 10–11, and two shows in Fresno Dec. 27–28.

Additional Proclamations and Greeting Letters

Jim Nielsen, CA State Senator

Andy Vidak, CA State Senator

Jean Fuller, CA Senate Republican Leader

Kevin Mullin, CA Speaker Pro Tempore

James Gallagher, CA State Assembly

Beth Gaines, CA State Assembly

Kevin McCarthy, CA State Assembly

Ken Cooley, CA State Assembly

Jim Cooper, CA State Assembly

City of Alameda: Mayor Trish Herrera Spencer

City of Capitola: City Council, Mayor Ed Bottorff

City of Dublin: City Council, Mayor David Haubert

City of Elk Grove: City Council, Mayor Gary Davis

City of Fremont: City Council, Mayor Bill Harrison

City of Fresno: City Council, Mayor Ashley Swearengin

City of Foster City: Mayor Herb Perez

City of Lathrop: City Council, Mayor Sonny Dhaliwal

City of Madera: City Council, Mayor Robert L. Poythress

City of Martinez: City Council, Mayor Rob Schroder  

City of Novato: City Council, Mayor Pat Eklund

City of Oakdale: Mayor Pat Paul

City of Pacifica: City Council, Mayor Sue Digre

City of Palo Alto: City Council, Mayor Patrick Burt

City of Pleasant Hill: Mayor Sue Noack

City of Pleasanton: Mayor Jerry Thorne

City of Rancho Cordova: City Council, Mayor David Sander

City of Redwood City: City Council, Mayor John D. Seybert

City of Richmond: Councilmember and Former Mayor Nathaniel Bates

City of Roseville: City Council, Mayor Carol Garcia

City of Salinas: City Council, Mayor Joe Gunter

City of San Jose: Mayor Sam Liccardo, Councilmember Raul Peralez, Councilmember Charles “Chappie” Jones

City of San Mateo: City Council, Mayor Joe Goethals

City of Santa Clara: City Council, Mayor Lisa M. Gillmor

City of Stockton: City Council, Mayor Anthony Silva

City of Sunnyvale: Mayor Glenn Hendricks

City of Suisun City: City Council, Mayor Pete Sanchez

City of Union City: City Council, Mayor Carol Dutra-Vernaci

City of Vallejo: Mayor Osby Davis

City of Watsonville: Mayor Felipe Hernandez

Alameda County: Board President Scott Haggerty

Alameda County: Board Vice President Wilma Chan

Contra Costa County: Board Chair Candace Andersen

Sacramento County: Board of Supervisors Roberta MacGlashan

Santa Clara County: Board of Supervisors Cindy Chavez

San Joaquin County: Board of Supervisors Carlos Villapudua

San Mateo County: Board President Warren Slocum

San Mateo County: Board Vice President Don Horsley

San Mateo County: Board of Supervisors Dave G. Pine

San Mateo County: Board of Supervisors Carole Groom

San Mateo County: Board of Supervisors Adrienne J. Tissier

Yolo County: Board of Supervisors Jim Provenza