Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens 2015 Official Draw

Hong Kong—Rugby Sevens 2015
By Bill Cox
Bill Cox
Bill Cox
February 16, 2015 Updated: February 16, 2015

HONG KONG—The official draw for the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens 2015 to be played from March 27-29 took place on Monday Feb 16 in Central Hong Kong. The tournament celebrates the 40th year of the Hong Kong Sevens.

This year there will be three concurrent tournaments; the Sevens World Series Core Team Competition featuring 15-core teams plus Belgium invited by World Rugby, the HSBC SWS Qualifier event comprising 12-mens teams and the Hong Kong Women’s Sevens also with 12 teams involved. Winner of the Men’s Qualifier competition will gain a direct place as a core team in the 2015-2016 series.

There are a total of 71-matches that be played at the Main Hong Kong stadium including all main competition matches and all men’s qualifier competition matches, plus the final of the Women’s competition.

The World Series draw is divided into 4-groups (A, B, C and D) with 4-teams per group while the Qualifier Competition has 3-groups (E, F and G) of 4 teams for the round robin stages. The women’s competition also has 3-groups (A, B and C) of 4-teams.

The result of the draws which were undertaken in front of a large audience of invited guests:

Main competition
Group A: Fiji, Canada, Samoa, Belgium
Group B: New Zealand, Australia, Scotland, Portugal
Group C: South Africa, France, Argentina, Japan
Group D: USA, England, Kenya, Wales.

Qualifier competition
Group E: Hong Kong, Uruguay, Brazil, Mexico
Group F: Russia, Papua New Guinea, South Korea, Tunisia
Group G: Spain, Zimbabwe, Tonga, Guyana

Women’s competition
Group A: Canada, Argentina, Samoa, Mexico
Group B: China, Hong Kong, Kazakhstan, Singapore
Group C: Japan, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Tunisia.

Bill Cox