5 Earthquakes Hit China; Chinese Gov Sanctions US Lawmakers

July 13, 2020 Updated: July 13, 2020

The series of disasters is continuing in China, with ongoing floods and five earthquakes on July 12 and 13. On July 12, this included a 5.1 magnitude earthquake about 19 miles from the city of Tangshan in Hebei, raising concerns of a repeat of the 7.8 magnitude earthquake in 1976 that killed over 240,000 people.

The same day there was a 4.4 magnitude earthquake about 34 miles from Honghe Hani and the Yi Autonomous Prefecture in Yunnan. A 4.7 magnitude earthquake hit about 35 miles from the Gannan Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture in Gansu. A 4.1 magnitude earthquake hit about 84 miles from Hotan Prefecture in Xinjiang. And the following day on July 13, a 5 magnitude earthquake hit about 22 miles from I-Li in Xinjiang.

And, the Chinese leadership has placed sanctions on three US lawmakers, and one ambassador. This was openly done in retaliation for their work to sanction CCP officials involved in human rights abuses of Muslims in Xinjiang. Under the sanctions on US officials, Senators Marco Rubio and Ted Cruz, Rep. Chris Smith, and Ambassador for Religious freedom Sam Brownback, will be unable to travel to China, and while the CCP has not given complete details, its foreign ministry spokesperson says the sanctions will mirror those placed on Chinese officials.

These stories and more in this episode of Crossroads.

Crossroads is an Epoch Times show available on Facebook and YouTube.

Join Patreon to Support Crossroads: https://www.patreon.com/Crossroads_Josh

Follow Joshua on Twitter: @JoshJPhilipp