Woman Arrested for Driving Drunk to Pick up Boyfriend at Police Station

September 17, 2019 Updated: September 17, 2019

A Pennsylvania woman was arrested for allegedly driving intoxicated to pick up her boyfriend at a police station.

Kristen Robbins, 30, went to the Chambersburg Police Department on Sept. 12. Officers there thought she was drunk and tested her to find that she was.

Officers discovered that Robbins had driven to the police station but did not park nearby. After she parked her car, she walked the rest of the way.

“On 9/12/19, Kristen Robbins came to the police station to pick-up her boyfriend who had been arrested for DUI. Robbins was found to be intoxicated. Officers investigated and found that Robbins had driven to the area and parked her vehicle along Central Avenue before walking to the police station. Robbins was then arrested for DUI,” the department stated.

There are three levels in Pennsylvania for driving under the influence, or DUIs.

Under a law signed in 2003, the lowest level is for those with 08. to 0.99 percent blood alcohol content (BAC).

The next level is for those with .1 to .159 percent BAC, while the highest level is for those with .16 BAC or higher.

“Under the new DUI law minors, commercial drivers, school vehicle or bus drivers, and offenders involved in an accident that injures someone or causes property damage may be subject to the high BAC penalties even if their BAC is not in the high category. Offenders who refuse breath or chemical testing may be subject to the highest BAC penalties,” the Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles stated.

LAPD police check drivers at a DUI checkpoint.
Police officers check drivers at a DUI checkpoint in a file photograph. (Mark Ralston/Getty Images)

Penalties are harsher for the higher levels while repeat offenders face jail time even if they’re in the lowest level.

Gov. Tom Wolf signed a bill (pdf) in late 2018 that put into place harsher penalties for repeat DUI offenders.

Drivers who cause a fatal accident while under the influence now face a minimum prison term of five years for each death in the crash, up from three, if they were previously convicted of a DUI.

The minimum prison term for someone with two or more prior DUI convictions was also moved to seven years.

“When you go through our criminal system for a DUI, then you should know the gravity of your wrongdoing,” state Sen. John Rafferty said about the bill. “If you are drunk, get behind the wheel again and kill someone, you are more liable and you will be held more accountable.”

Follow Zachary on Twitter: @zackstieber
RECOMMENDED