Russia Sanctions 25 More Americans, Including Actors Sean Penn, Ben Stiller

By The Associated Press
The Associated Press
The Associated Press
September 5, 2022 Updated: September 6, 2022

Russia imposed personal sanctions Monday on 25 Americans, including actors Sean Penn and Ben Stiller, in response to U.S. sanctions against Russians stemming from the conflict in Ukraine.

U.S. Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo was on the new sanctions list, as were several American senators: Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.) and Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), and Pat Toomey (R-Pa.).

Russia’s Foreign Ministry said the group, which also included business leaders, academics, and government officials, would be banned permanently from entering Russia.

Previous rounds of Russian sanctions against Americans have included President Joe Biden and members of his family, as well as lawmakers and business leaders. The United States has sanctioned numerous Russians, including government officials and business people.

Penn and Stiller have been outspoken critics of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. Penn is an activist involved in relief work, among other causes. Stiller is a goodwill ambassador for the U.N. High Commissioner for Refugees.

Ben Stiller
UNHCR Goodwill Ambassador Ben Stiller talks with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy during their meeting in Kyiv, Ukraine, on June 20, 2022. (Ukrainian Presidential Press Office via AP)