Ontario Premier Announces Gradual Reopening of Province’s Economy

February 8, 2021 Updated: February 8, 2021

Premier Doug Ford announced on Feb. 8 that Ontario will gradually reopen its economy in selected regions starting Wednesday and the state of emergency order will end on Tuesday.

Regions across the province will transit back to a color-coded restrictions framework over three weeks. Until then, the stay-at-home order in the respective regions will remain in effect, the government said.

“Our number one priority will always be protecting the health and safety of all individuals, families, and workers across the province,” Ford said. “But we must also consider the severe impact COVID-19 is having on our businesses.”

Starting Feb. 10 at 12.01 a.m., the following regions will no longer be subjected to the Stay-at-Home order as they transit to the “green” category of the restrictions framework: Hastings Prince Edward; Kingston Frontenac and Lennox and Addington; Renfrew County and District. This means restaurants and non-essential businesses can reopen.

As for the rest of the regions, the Stay-at-Home order will continue until Feb. 16 with the exception of Toronto, Peel, and York regions.

Stay-at-Home orders will remain in those regions until Feb. 22. 

In addition, the provincial government introduced an “emergency brake” measure that allows for immediate action if a public health unit region experiences rapid acceleration in COVID-19 transmission or if its health care system risks becoming overwhelmed.