Sen. John Cornyn Wins Reelection in Texas, Snagging Fourth Term

Sen. John Cornyn Wins Reelection in Texas, Snagging Fourth Term
Sen. John Cornyn (R-Texas) reacts as Supreme Court nominee Judge Amy Coney Barrett participates in her confirmation hearing before the Senate Judiciary Committee on Capitol Hill in Washington, Oct. 12, 2020. (Shawn Thew/Pool/AFP via Getty Images)
Bowen Xiao

Sen. John Cornyn (R-Texas) won a fourth term after defeating Democrat MJ Hegar, snagging a victory to Republicans who hoped to hold their Senate majority this election.

Cornyn has held his seat for 18 years and has previously served as the Republican Senate Majority Whip, the second-highest ranking position in the Senate Republican Conference.
The victory was called at 9:05 pm. ET, according to The Associated Press.
In a statement on Twitter, Cornyn said it has been the honor of his life to serve Texans in the Senate and that he would “continue to be a strong voice for our values in Washington” after winning his reelection battle.

It has been 26 years since Democrats have won a statewide race in Texas.

His opponent, MJ Hegar, was a former major in the U.S. Air Force and the Air National Guard. She was honorably discharged after completing three tours of duty in Afghanistan, according to her campaign website.
In her conceding statement, Hegar said “we’ve built a powerful grassroots movement from the ground up” and that her “fight here in Texas is far from over.”
According to Decision Desk HQ, President Donald Trump is projected to win Texas and its 38 Electoral College votes. The projection was made at 11:57 p.m. ET.
Bowen Xiao was a New York-based reporter at The Epoch Times. He covers national security, human trafficking and U.S. politics.