Three More Countries Added to UK Travel Ban List

Three More Countries Added to UK Travel Ban List
Passengers arrive at Heathrow Airport, west London, on July 10, 2020. (Daniel Leal-Olivas/AFP via Getty Images)
Three more countries have been added to the UK’s travel ban list, meaning visitors from the United Arab Emirates, Burundi, and Rwanda are from 1 p.m. Friday no longer allowed to travel to the UK.

Anyone who has visited or transited through the banned countries in the last 10 days will also be subject to the restrictions.

The move comes after announcements earlier in the week that people arriving in the UK from any country on a travel ban list who cannot be turned away must isolate for 10 days without exception, undergoing a 10-day, managed hotel quarantine.

Non-UK residents will be refused entry.

British and Irish nationals, or third country nationals with residence rights in the UK can return from any of the now 33 countries on the ban list, but are required to self-isolate at home for 10 days, along with anyone else they live with.

More police checks will be carried out at home addresses to ensure that people are self-isolating.

The tougher border controls aim to reduce the risk of a new variant of the CCP (Chinese Communist Party) virus, commonly known as the novel coronavirus, being transmitted from someone entering the UK.

“There are still too many people coming in and out of our country each day. The rules are clear—people should be staying at home unless they have a valid reason to leave. Going on holiday is not a valid reason,” Home Secretary Priti Patel said is a statement.

“As we have done throughout this global health emergency, we will continue to take all steps necessary to protect the public and help prevent the spread of the virus.”
The UK Department for Transport list of banned countries includes those where the Brazilian and South African CCP virus variants of the are believed to be spreading. The list also includes countries with major travel links to Brazil and South Africa.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson confirmed that all travellers wishing to leave the UK will be questioned about their reasons for travel.

“I want to make clear that under the stay-at-home regulations it is illegal to leave home to travel abroad for leisure purposes, and we will enforce this at ports and airports by asking people why they are leaving and instructing them to return home if they do not have a valid reason to travel,” he told the House of Commons on Wednesday.

There will also be stronger police enforcement, with increased police presence at airports and ports. Anyone found to be in breach of the rules could be fined.

The news follows the earlier announcement on Jan. 18, confirming that all passengers entering England, including British citizens, need to provide evidence of a negative pre-departure test for the CCP virus.