Orange County Transportation Authority Appoints New Leadership

Orange County Transportation Authority Appoints New Leadership
A new fleet of zero-emission buses awaits introduction in Orange County, Calif. (Courtesy of the Orange County Transportation Authority)
Jack Bradley

Orange County Supervisor Andrew Do has been unanimously elected the new Orange County Transportation Authority (OCTA) board chairman.

Do is responsible for planning, funding, and implementing transportation improvement projects for all of Orange County. He served as the vice chairman of the board last year, and is replacing outgoing chairman, Garden Grove Mayor Steve Jones, who remains on the board.

“It is an honor to be selected by my colleagues to lead OCTA’s Board of Directors this year,” Do said in a Jan. 11 statement. “I look forward to working with them and the public to provide a balanced, sustainable, and innovative transportation system to keep Orange County moving. Considering the challenges of the past year, I recognize how essential public transit and improvement projects are to ensuring our communities are safe, healthy, and financially sound.”

He has been serving on the OCTA board since 2015, and has represented OCTA at the Metrolink Board of Directors since 2018.

Mayor of Orange Mark Murphy was unanimously elected the board’s vice chairman.

OCTA also added two members to the board: Santa Ana Mayor Vicente Sarmiento and Mission Viejo Mayor Brian Goodell.

The OCTA board has 18 members, including the five county supervisors, two members from city councils in each of the five supervisorial districts, two public members and the Caltrans District Director, who serves in a non-voting ex-officio capacity.