OC’s Newest Councilmembers Prepare to Take Oath of Office

OC’s Newest Councilmembers Prepare to Take Oath of Office
A file photo of City Hall in Dana Point, Calif. (John Fredricks/The Epoch Times)
Drew Van Voorhis
Cities throughout Orange County prepared to hold their initial council meetings with newly elected members this week, with many local politicians sworn in for the first time.
One Southern California city has already witnessed the re-inauguration of a history-making politician. Tara Campbell was elected mayor of Yorba Linda in 2019 at age 25, becoming the youngest female mayor in California’s history. She took the oath of office to begin her second term on the city’s council at Yorba Linda City Hall Dec. 1.
In Fullerton, the council will swear in newly elected members Fred Jung and Nick Dunlap, representing districts 1 and 2 respectively. Outgoing Mayor Jennifer Fitzgerald and Councilmember Jan Flory will be recognized for their efforts on behalf of the city; neither sought reelection.
Fullerton council aid Eva Morales told The Epoch Times that the election of the city’s new mayor will also take place at the meeting.
“Once they’re sworn in and are seated, they will select a mayor and mayor pro tem among themselves,” Morales said, adding that the mayor is elected by the council, and the seat is usually filled on a rotating basis.
In Laguna Niguel, Kelly Jennings and Rischi Paul Sharma were preparing to take the oath of office on Dec. 1. They will replace Mayor Laurie Davies, who’s moving on to the State Assembly, and Councilmember John Mark Jennings, who didn’t run for reelection.
Councilmember Sandy Rains, an incumbent, will retain her seat.
The meeting, held over Zoom, will also include presentations to outgoing members Davies and Jennings. After the swearing in ceremony, the council will review reports before adjourning.
The Dana Point City Council meeting on Dec. 1 scheduled an oath of office for its two newest members, Mike Frost of District 4 and Michael Villare of District 5.  
The council’s only outgoing member is Paul Wyatt. Another member of the Dana Point City Council, Debra Lewis, resigned in July after moving out of the city.
Drew Van Voorhis is a California-based daily news reporter for The Epoch Times. He has been a journalist for six years, during which time he has broken several viral national news stories and has been interviewed for his work on both radio and internet shows.
Related Topics