Have you ever requested an Uber, only to realize seconds later that it’d be much easier to get picked up a few streets over?
Not only will Uber be able to access location data when the app is running in the background, Uber will also use contact information to send promotional offers to your friends and family.
Keep in mind, these are both optional features. You have the ability to turn them on or off at any time from within the app.
You can view the new user privacy statement on Uber’s website today, but the changes won’t go into effect until July 15th. If you use Uber regularly, expect to see a notification around that date asking for permission to your location data and address book.