The Latest: Trump Gets All 6 Electoral Votes in Mississippi

By The Associated Press
The Associated Press
The Associated Press
December 19, 2016 Updated: December 19, 2016

Republican Donald Trump has received all six of Mississippi’s electoral votes for president. He won the state by a wide margin in November.

The state’s Electoral College members cast their votes Monday in Jackson. Other electors were meeting across the nation.

Mississippi’s electors are former Fayette Mayor Charles Evers, a radio host and brother of slain Mississippi NAACP leader Medgar Evers; Ann Hebert of Lucedale, who’s on the state Republican executive committee; Joe Frank Sanderson Jr. of Laurel, chairman and CEO of poultry company Sanderson Farms; J. Kelley Williams of Jackson, retired chairman and president of chemical company First Mississippi Corp.; William G. Yates Jr. of Philadelphia, chairman of Yates Construction; and Wirt A. Yerger Jr., of Jackson, a retired insurance broker who was state GOP chairman from 1956-1966.


Evers has switched political allegiances over the years. He is a former Democrat who became a Republican more than two decades ago. But, he supported President Barack Obama in the 2008 election.

Evers replaces Brad White as an elector. White, a former state Republican Party chairman, said he could not serve as an elector because he recently started a federal job — as chief of staff for Republican Sen. Thad Cochran.

Electors met Monday in Jackson and across the nation to formally elect the next president.