Texas Gov. Declares State of Disaster for 30 State Counties

August 23, 2017 Updated: August 23, 2017

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott declared a state of disaster for 30 Texas counties, according to reports, in anticipation of Tropical Depression Harvey making landfall in the Gulf region.

The remains of Tropical Storm Harvey reformed into a tropical depression and are heading to the coast, the National Weather Service said on Wednesday.

The storm could make landfall by Friday.

A hurricane watch was issued for Port Mansfield to the San Luis Pass, including Matagorda, Jackson, and Brazoria counties, the Houston Chronicle reported. Chambers, Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Live Oak, Waller and Wharton counties saw a preemptive disaster declaration under the order.

Here are the counties affected, KHOU reported:

  • Aransas
  • Austin
  • Bee
  • Calhoun
  • Chambers
  • Colorado
  • Brazoria
  • DeWitt
  • Fayette
  • Fort Bend
  • Galveston
  • Goliad
  • Gonzales
  • Harris
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Jim Wells
  • Karnes,
  • Kleberg
  • Lavaca
  • Liberty
  • Live Oak
  • Matagorda
  • Nueces
  • Refugio
  • San Patricio
  • Victoria
  • Waller
  • Wharton
  • Wilson 

As the station reported, “On Wednesday, the governor also ordered the State Operations Center to elevate its readiness level as the possible storm approaches.”