Stefanik, Lamborn, Rogers Join Group Planning to Object to Contested Electors

January 4, 2021 Updated: January 4, 2021

Reps. Elise Stefanik (R-N.Y.), Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.), and Mike Rogers (R-Ala.) on Monday announced they will object to contested electors on Jan. 6.

“I am acting to protect our Democratic process. Article II and the Twelfth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution make clear that I have an obligation to act on this matter, if I believe there are serious questions with respect to the presidential election. I believe those questions exist,” Stefanik said in a video statement.

Tens of millions of Americans are concerned about voting irregularities, unconstitutional overreach by state officials, and a lack of ballot integrity and security, she said.

Tens of thousands of constituents and others reached out to her in recent weeks.

“I am committed to restoring the faith of the American people in our elections—that they are free, fair, secure, and according to the United States Constitution,” Stefanik added.

Lamborn said in a statement that he is objecting due to “election irregularities.” Rogers said “there are far too many instances of alleged voter fraud that have called the legitimacy of the election results into question.”

According to an Epoch Times tally, there are now 52 challengers to the electoral votes on Jan. 6, when a joint session of Congress convenes to count the votes.

Nine members announced over they were joining the effort, including Reps. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Kat Cammack (R-Fla.), and Richard Hudson (R-N.C.).

A dozen senators also plan on objecting, including Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), and Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.).

The Electoral College Act of 1877 outlines how objections can be made during joint sessions held to count electoral votes. An objection must be in writing and be signed by at least one member of the House and at least one senator. If the objections meet the requirements, they each trigger a withdrawal from the joint session and a two-hour debate, followed by a vote in each chamber. A majority vote in both chambers would uphold an objection.

Democrats tried objecting in 2017 but failed to garner support from any senators, prompting then-Vice President Joe Biden to reject the attempts.

Democrats successfully launched an objection in 2005.

Former Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), the senator who signed that objection, said last week that she doesn’t regret what she did but insisted this time around is different because Trump hasn’t conceded, in contrast to then-Democratic presidential nominee John Kerry.

“All we wanted was to focus on voter suppression that we saw in Ohio,” she added. There’s no comparison between 2005 and 2021, she said. “And maybe this is a moment for people to really look at different ways we can use the laws that we have,” she said.

Follow Zachary on Twitter: @zackstieber
Follow Zachary on Parler: @zackstieber