Sri Lanka vs New Zealand T20 World Cup Cricket: Sri Lanka Wins by 59 Runs to Make it Into Semifinals

March 31, 2014 Updated: July 18, 2015

New Zealand will face Sri Lanka in the 2014 T20 World Cup on March 31.

UPDATE: Sri Lanka won by 59 runs in the crucial match to make it into the semifinals.

 See the full schedule, including results, here.

——Original story below

The team will on April 3 face the winner of the West Indies-Pakistan game.

The teams are playing at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong, Bangladesh.

The game is set to start at 1:30 p.m. GMT (7 p.m. IST).

That’s 2:30 a.m. NZDT on April 1.

The game will be broadcast on SKY TV in New Zealand, Fox Sports in Australia, and STAR Sports in the Indian Sub-Continent (India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bhutan).

It will also be shown on PTV in Pakistan; Astro in Malaysia and Brunei; Lemar TV in Afghanistan; Star Cricket in Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Hong Kong, and the Philippines; ESPN3 in the Caribbean, South America, Central America, United States, Mexico; OSN Sport Cricket in North Africa and the Middle East; Supersport in South and Sub Saharan Africa; SKY TV in New Zealand; Fox Sports in Australia.

Live streaming is available on Sky’s Now TV app,, WatchESPN,,, and Some of the live streaming is only available in one country or region. 

Sri Lanka is coming off a six wicket loss to England after beating the Netherlands by nine wickets and South Africa by five runs. 

New Zealand is coming off a six wicket win over the Netherlands after beating South Africa by two runs and England by nine runs.

The teams are tied for second place in Group 1 with two wins and one loss each.

Whichever team wins will go onto the semifinals. Whichever team doesn’t will go home. 

South Africa is on top of the group after winning three games and losing one and is assured a spot in the semifinals. 

See squads below.

New Zealand: 

Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Anton Devcich, Martin Guptill, Ronnie Hira, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson

Sri Lanka: 

Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jayawardena, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Kumar Sangakkara, Sachithra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne

Follow Zachary on Twitter: @zackstieber