South Africa Win IRB Sevens World Series Leg in Port Elizabeth

Port Elizabeth—HSBC World Sevens Series
By Bill Cox
Bill Cox
Bill Cox
December 16, 2014 Updated: December 18, 2014

South Africa won the HSBC Sevens Series Leg in Port Elizabeth, South Africa on Sunday Dec 14, 2014 beating New Zealand in the final 26-17. South Africa defeated Australia in the Semi-final 19-10 while New Zealand outplayed Argentina 29-0. The 3rd place playoff was won by Australia 34-19.

Standings: South Africa 59-points, Fiji 51, New Zealand 47, Australia 46, Argentina 40, England 37, Samoa 29, Scotland 27, USA 26, Wales 25 France 19, Canada 14, Portugal 13, Kenya 11, Japan 3 and Brazil, Zimbabwe and American Samoa have 1-point.

Round-Robin Matches
After Day-1 of the HSBC Sevens World Series matches in Port Elizabeth, South Africa on Saturday Dec 13, all of the top rugby nations are through to the Cup Quarter Finals to be played on Sunday Dec 14.

The only surprises in the Pool Matches were Japan beating Samoa 17-14, Argentina beating Australia 31-12 and Wales being relegated to the Bowl after defeats by South Africa and USA. USA beat Wales 38-12 in the Pool-A match.

In the Cup Final Quarter Finals played Sunday Dec 14 is: South Africa beat England 31-7, Fiji lost to Australia 19-31, New Zealand overcame USA 28-7 and Argentina beat Scotland 24-19. Scotland just squeezed into the Cup Quarters on points difference with Scotland, Canada and Zimbabwe all finishing the group stage on 5-points.

Plate and Bowl
In the Plate Semi-finals Fiji easily overcame England 31-0 and surprisingly USA beat Scotland 26-19. The Plate Final was won by USA overcoming Fiji 21-14, while Canada beat Kenya 24-5 to win the Bowl.

Next Sevens Venues
The next leg of the series is in Wellington New Zealand on Feb 6-7, 2015; followed one week later on Feb 13-15 in Las Vegas, USA. Hong Kong Sevens will be the next event on Mar 27-29. The Japan leg is on Apr 4-5. Scotland leg is on May 9-10 and the finale in London will be on May 16-17, 2015.

Bill Cox