South Africa vs Sri Lanka Cricket: ODI Series Live Streaming, TV Channel, Date, Start Time, Squads

South Africa and Sri Lanka face off in the 1st ODI of South Africa’s tour of Sri Lanka on Sunday, July 6.

The first match of the series is slated to take place at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo beginning at 9:45 a.m. IST (6:15 a.m. SAST).

The match will be broadcast on SuperSport in South Africa and other areas of Africa as well as Ten Sports in Sri Lanka.

The match will also be broadcast on PTV Sports in Pakistan and OSN in the Middle East, among other broadcasters.

Live streaming will be available through most broadcasters.

Both teams are looking to get into the No. 2 ODI position, with Sri Lanka currently in third–just behind India–and South Africa in fifth–just barely behind England.

If Sri Lanka wins the series 2-1, it will claim sole possession of second position with 113 ratings points, while a 3-0 victory will put Sri Lanka on 114 ratings points. In both the scenarios, South Africa will retain its fifth position. On the other side of the coin, a 2-1 win for South Africa will put both the sides on 111 ratings points each. But Sri Lanka will be ranked third while South Africa will be ranked fourth, two ratings points ahead of fifth-ranked England, according to ICC-Cricket.

However, if South Africa wins all the three matches of the series, then it will earn four ratings points to leapfrog India into second position, while Sri Lanka will slip to fourth position, just on ratings point ahead of England.

The teams will be playing other matches on Wednesday, July 9; and Saturday, July 12. Then a 2 Test Series will take place on Wednesday, July 16; and Thursday, July 24.

In their only meeting so far this year, Sri Lanka beat South Africa by five runs during the ICC World Twenty20.

See squads below.

South Africa (from):

AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Jean-Paul Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Beuran Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Ryan Mclaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn.

Sri Lanka (from):

Angelo Mathews (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Ashan Priyanjan, Upul Tharanga, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal. 

Follow Zachary on Twitter: @zackstieber