Sen. Chuck Grassley to Seek Eighth Term

By Zachary Stieber
Zachary Stieber
Zachary Stieber
Zachary Stieber covers U.S. news and stories relating to the COVID-19 pandemic. He is based in Maryland.
September 24, 2021 Updated: September 26, 2021

Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), one of the longest-serving U.S. senators, is running for reelection, he announced on Sept. 24.

Grassley, 88, who has been in office since 1981, will be seeking an eighth term.

“Serving Iowans in the United States Senate is a tremendous honor. I’m working as hard as ever for the people of Iowa and there’s more work to do,” Grassley said in a statement sent to news outlets.

“In a time of crisis and polarization, Iowa needs strong, effective leadership. I’m focused on serving the people of Iowa as your senator and fighting for policies that will make Iowa an even better place to raise a family and grow a business.”

Republicans have held both Senate seats representing Iowa since 2015. Sen. Joni Ernst (R-Iowa) won another term last year.

Grassley will face competition in the Republican primary from state Sen. Jim Carlin.

Three Democrats have also declared bids for the seat: Abby Finkenauer, who represented Iowa’s 1st Congressional District in the House of Representatives from 2019 to 2021; Glenn Hurst, a city councilman in Minden who chairs the Iowa Democratic Party Rural Caucus; and Dave Muhlbauer, a former supervisor in Crawford County.

Finkenauer said after Grassley’s announcement that “Grassley has spent 47 years with the D.C. elite, lining his own pockets while families like mine back in Iowa have been left behind.”

“Now, he’s running yet again to put Pharma over our seniors, Wall Street over working people, and monopolies over small businesses,” she said.

Grassley won reelection in 2016 with 60 percent of the vote, beating Democrat Patty Judge.

Republicans hold 50 seats in the Senate while Democrats and nominal independents who regularly vote with them hold the other 50. Because Democrats control the White House, Vice President Kamala Harris can cast tiebreaking votes in her role as president of the Senate.

Thirty-four Senate seats are up for grabs in 2022, including 20 held by Republicans. Five GOP senators aren’t seeking reelection, including Sens. Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), and Roy Blunt (R-Mo.). No Democrats have announced plans to retire.

Other senators haven’t committed to running for another term, including Sens. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), and Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska).

Zachary Stieber
Zachary Stieber covers U.S. news and stories relating to the COVID-19 pandemic. He is based in Maryland.