Sebring 12 Hours Halfway: #01 Ganassi-Ford Leads Overall, Porsche Leads Corvette in GTLM

March 21, 2015 Updated: July 18, 2015

SEBRING, Fla.—After six hours of racing at the 2015 Tudor United SportCar Championship Twelve Hours of Sebring, Scott Dixon—part of the winning 2015 Rolex 24 driving team—in the #01 Ganassi Riley-Ford Ecoboost—the 2014 Sebring winning car—leads Richard Westbrook in the #90 VisitFlorida Coyote-Corvette by seven seconds. Joao Barbosa in the #5 Action Express Racing Coyote-Corvette runs third, seven seconds ahead of Johannes van Overbeek in the Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD ARX-03b.

The fastest car on the starting grid, the #57 Krohn Racing Ligier-Judd, is tenth overall, four laps down, after being held up by spins and collisions.

Tom Kimber Smith in the #52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports OrecaChevrolet leads in PC, six seconds ahead of Conor Daly in the Performance Tech Oreca. Kimber-Smith is sixth overall.

GTLM has been exactly the kind of battle it always seems to be. The day started with Porsche-Corvette combat, and Porsche got the better of it as the Corvettes were quick at the start of each stint, but wore out their rear tires too quickly.

The #912 Porsche North America RSR led much of the first few hours; The #17 Falken Tire Porsche led briefly. BMW took a turn at the front, but after six hours it was Patrick Pilet, 11th overall, in the #911 PNA RSR leading Antonio Garcia in the #3 Corvette Racing C7.R by a few seconds, with Patrick Long in the #17 Falken Porsche another few seconds back, and Tommy Milner in the #4 Corvette only half a second back.