A new policy at a Utah high school is forcing chronically late students to pay a fine. The policy is aimed at ending tardiness at Stansbury High School, but some parents oppose the move.
Students who are late to class initially get a warning. If they are late again, they have to pay $3. Every offense after that will cost $5, AOL News reported.
“What we’re really trying to target is those periods between classes where really it’s a choice,” said Assistant Principal Cody Reutzel, to Fox 13. “It’s a personal decision of whether you’re going to walk from class A to class B and be on time.”
So far, the measures appear to be working.
“We just implemented it on Tuesday, and this week we’ve handed out just warnings, no fines at all,” said Principal Gailynn Warr.
Only school administrators, not teachers, can issue the fines. But some parents take issue with the financial part of the deal.
“I think the school board implemented this as part of a way to generate income, make a money grab out of the thing,” said parent Brett Dennison.
However, the students do have a way around paying a fine. They can take detention at lunch or have a clean attendance record for a few weeks so they don’t have to come out of pocket.
“Our goal is not to get money,” Warr said. “It would be great if I didn’t get any money. We just want kids in class.”
Charging a fine for lateness has been tried in other schools as well. Concordia Lutheran High School in Fort Wayne, Indiana makes students pay up to $30 for detention resulting from being late too often. Parents complain that the fines end up being a punishment for them, rather than their children, Wane.com reported.
“I don’t know why you would slap the parents wrist because of the fact that they’re already paying 10 grand or more per year for a private Lutheran education. So to nickel and dime on top of that, I don’t think that’s the right method,” said a parent who wants to remain anonymous.