Province-by-Province Breakdown of an Almost Carbon Copy Election

By Andrew Chen
Andrew Chen
Andrew Chen
Andrew Chen is an Epoch Times reporter based in Toronto.
September 21, 2021 Updated: September 21, 2021

More results of the 2021 election continued to roll in on Tuesday, but the outcome is all but settled with Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau returning to power with another minority government.

A province-by-province breakdown of the vote shows that not much has changed in Canada’s political landscape since the last election in 2019.


While the vast majority of Alberta’s 34 ridings went to the Conservatives, they will be down from the 33 seats they previously had.

The Liberals have secured one seat in Calgary Skyview, and ballots are still being counted to determine the winner in Edmonton Centre, where Liberal Randy Boissonnault is so far ahead of incumbent Conservative James Cumming.

The NDP, which has long held the Edmonton Strathcona riding, increased its representation to two seats after Blake Desjarlais won in the Edmonton Griesbach riding.

Atlantic Canada

The Liberals remain dominant in Atlantic Canada, sending a total of 24 MPs to Ottawa.

In Prince Edward Island, the party once again got a clean sweep, while in Nova Scotia the Liberals lost two seats to the Conservatives.

In Newfoundland and Labrador the Liberals won six seats, including one previously held by the NDP, but their incumbent Scott Simms lost to Conservative Clifford Small in Coast of Bays-Central-Notre Dame.

British Columbia

As of Tuesday, the Liberals were leading in B.C. with 15 seats, an increase of four seats from the 2019 election. The Conservatives won 13 seats this time, dropping from the 17 seats they won in 2019.

The NDP also elected 13 MPs, gaining two seats compared to the 11 it won in 2019, while the Green Party lost one of its two seats in the province.


Manitoba remains identical at this time, with the Conservatives leading with 7 seats, followed by the Liberals with four seats and the NDP with three.


The Liberals took the lion’s share of 78 seats of the 121 in Ontario, followed by the Conservatives with 37 seats and the NDP with five.

While Green Party Leader Annamie Paul failed to win in her riding of Toronto Centre, Mike Morrice won in his district for the Greens without much challenge after Liberal incumbent Raj Saini ended his campaign amid harassment allegations.

Overall, compared with 2019, the Liberals and the NDP each lost one seat, whereas the Conservatives and the Greens each gained one.


The Bloc Québécois came out of the election with 34 seats, a slight increase of two seats from the 2019 election, closely followed by the Liberals with 33 seats.

The Conservatives saw no gains or losses in Quebec, holding onto the 10 seats they won in 2019.

Alexandre Boulerice was re-elected in the Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie riding, giving the NDP its only seat in Quebec.

Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau secured an easy win with nearly 50 percent of the vote in his riding of Papineau, ahead of his closest rival Christine Paré from the NDP, who came second with roughly 23 percent of the vote.


The Conservatives got a repeat clean sweep in Saskatchewan, sending 14 MPs to Ottawa with nearly 290,000 votes, or roughly 60 percent of the vote.

Saskatchewan Premier Scott Moe released a statement on Tuesday, calling the 2021 election “the most pointless election in Canada’s history.”

The Territories

Liberal Brendan Hanley, Yukon’s chief medical officer of health, is heading to Ottawa as the territory’s MP.

Having secured over 5,700 votes, or roughly 33 percent of the total vote, Hanley defeated Conservative candidate Barbara Dunlop, who came second with roughly 4,600 votes (27 percent), and NDP Lisa Vollans-Leduc, who got close to 4,000 votes (23 percent).

The election result in Yukon turned out different from the neck-and-neck race in 2019, when Liberal Larry Bagnell defeated Conservative Jonas Smith by just 153 votes. Bagnell announced in early August that he would not be seeking re-election.

NDP candidate Lori Idlout will be going to Ottawa as the next MP for Nunavut, winning 48 percent of the vote.

Liberal Candidate Pat Angnakak came second with 36 percent, followed by Conservative Laura Mackenzie with 16 percent.

Idlout will replace outgoing NDP MP Mumilaaq Qaqqaq, who did not seek re-election.

In the Northwest Territories, Liberal Michael McLeod was re-elected with roughly 38 percent of the votes.

Andrew Chen
Andrew Chen is an Epoch Times reporter based in Toronto.