Lionel Messi Goal Today: Watch Video of Messi’s Goal in World Cup Match (+Photos)

Lionel Messi scored a goal in the Argentina vs Bosnia game on Sunday, June 15.

Messi’s score put Argentina up 2-0.

The first goal came after a cross from Messi was headed by an Argentinian player then inadvertently knocked into the goal by a Bosnia player.

His second came after a nifty move left two defenders knotted up. His kick went past the goalie and hit the left goal post, then bounced into the right side.

Messi was visibly excited after the goal, celebrating with his teammates, perhaps feeling some of the pressure lifted off.




Bosnia’s goalkeeper Asmir Begovic looks to the ball as Argentina’s Lionel Messi scores his side’s 2nd goal during the group F World Cup soccer match between Argentina and Bosnia at the Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Sunday, June 15, 2014. (AP Photo/Victor R. Caivano)


Lionel Messi of Argentina reacts after scoring his team’s second goal during the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Group F match between Argentina and Bosnia-Herzegovina at Maracana on June 15, 2014 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. (Matthias Hangst/Getty Images)

 See an Associated Press preview of the game below. 

Argentina leaves out Higuain against Bosnia 

RIO DE JANEIRO—Argentina coach Alejandro Sabella has dropped both Gonzalo Higuain and Ezequiel Lavezzi from his lineup in the team’s World Cup opener against Bosnia.

The move suggests Argentina will play with only two strikers — captain Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero — instead of the three-man attack that Sabella often chooses.

World Cup debutant Bosnia will be led by striker Edin Dzeko and creative midfielder Miralem Pjanic.

The Group F match is the first 2014 World Cup game to be played at Rio de Janeiro’s famed Maracana stadium.



Argentina: Sergio Romero, Ezequiel Garay, Federico Fernandez, Hugo Campagnaro, Pablo Zabaleta, Marcos Rojo, Angel Di Maria, Javier Mascherano, Maxi Rodriquez, Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero.


Asmir Begovic, Ermin Bicakcic, Emir Spahic, Sead Kolasinac, Muhamed Besic, Miralem Pjanic, Zvjezdan Misimovic, Edin Dzeko, Mensur Mujdza, Senad Lulic, Izet Hajrovic.

Follow Zachary on Twitter: @zackstieber