India vs. Sri Lanka Asia Cup Cricket Game: Preview, Date, Time, Livestream, TV Channel

By Naveen Athrappully, Epoch Times
February 27, 2014 Updated: February 27, 2014

India vs Sri Lanka will be the 4th match (50 overs ODI) of the Asia Cup.

The game will be played at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Fatullah, on Friday, Feb. 28 at 8:00 a.m. GMT/1:30 a.m. Indian Standard Time. 

This will be a high stakes game for both teams, and for all the cricket purists. India and Sri Lanka are in good form this season with players like Virat Kohli and Lasith Malinga able to take the game to another level. Both the teams have won their previous encounters in the Asia Cup. If you’re an India fan, the memories are still be fresh of the 2011 World Cup final, CB Series, and West Indies Tri-Nation Series, where the teams played against each other. However, India might be wary as they are missing one the best finishers in the game, M.S. Dhoni, who is out injured. 

Sri Lanka won’t be lacking confidence, with a high percentage of wins in all formats of the games they’ve played recently, and with their batsmen in top form. On the other hand, India under Virat Kohli is still looking to prove the hype of the new captain. Kohli has begun his new leadership journey in style with match-winning century innings against Bangladesh.  The stage is set for an exciting Kohli vs. Malinga clash.

Asia Cup 2014 started on Feb. 25 and will run through to March 8. The Cup was historically played between India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Afghanistan is the new addition to the tournament. This year, all matches are played in Bangladesh in two cities, Fatullah and Mirpur. 


TV Stations for Watching

Pakistan: Geo Super, PTV Sports
Sri Lanka: MTV Sports
Bangladesh: Channel 9, Star life OK
India: Star Cricket, Star Sports, Star India, Neo Prime
Afghanistan: 1 TV
USA: Willow TV
South Africa: Supersport
Australia: Fox Sports / Skysports / Star Cricket
UK: Star Life OK
Europe: Star Life OK
New Zealand: Sky TV
Canada: ATN Network, CBN, ATN Cricket Plus


Top 5 Live Streaming Sites







First Match: Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka won by 12 runs.

  • Played at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Fatullah (neutral venue)
  • Feb. 25, 2014 – day/night (50-over match)


Second Match: Bangladesh vs. India

India won by 6 wickets (with 6 balls remaining)

  • Played at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Fatullah
  • Feb. 26, 2014 – day/night (50-over match)


India Squad

Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar, Mohammad Shami, Varun Aaron, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra, and Ishwar Pandey.


Sri Lanka Squad

Angelo Mathews (c), Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Ashan Priyanjan, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, and Chathuranga De Silva