HKFC Win Three Titles on Finals Day

Lawn Bowls—Finals Day
By Claudius Lam
Claudius Lam
Claudius Lam
July 4, 2018 Updated: July 4, 2018

HONG KONG—Hong Kong Football Club (HKFC) continue to display their dominance in the women section at the local lawn bowls arena by clinching the National Pairs and Fours at the first Finals Day of year on July 1.  Their team also won the Mixed Pairs.

2017 Bowler of the Year Vivian Yip partnered with 2016 Bowler of the Year Dorothy Yu to win their first National Pairs title, defeating Erica Leung, Joanne Leung from Filipino Club 15:12 in a tight and low scoring final.  The match was tied at 12:12 after the 15th end but the HKFC duo scored one apiece in the following three ends to win the title.

Epoch Times Photo
Dorothy Yu (left) and Vivian Yip from the Hong Kong Football Club won their first National Pairs title at the first Finals Day of the year last Sunday, July 1. They defeated Erica Leung and Joanne Leung from Filipino Club 15:12 in a tight final. (Stephanie Worth)

This was the first success for the Yip and Yu combination at the Pairs, despite Yip being runner-up for two consecutive years in 2014 and 2015.

In the women’s National Fours, the HKFC team of Josephine Lam, Connie Chung, Rita Shek and Wanis Sze faced a young team from Craigengower Cricket Club (CCC) which consisted of Andrea Chan, Angel So, Olivia Yu and veteran Helen Cheung.  They were trailing their opponents for most of the game and needed to take four shots in the last two ends to win the match 14:12.

Epoch Times Photo
Hong Kong Football Club were the biggest winner at the first Finals Day of the year last Sunday, July 1. They won the National Pairs, National Fours and the Mixed Pairs, as well as finished second in the Mixed Fours. (Stephanie Worth)

In the men’s Pairs, experienced bowler Oscar Adem missed the chance to complete his grand slam collection when his combination with Stanley Lai lost convincingly to a young team of Jerry Ng and Arthur Lam from KCC 23:10.

Adem won his first National Singles in 1968, and National Triples and Fours in 1965 but the National Pairs has eluded him since then.  This was their fourth runners-up finish in the Pairs.

For the men’s National Fours, CCC’s  Imen Tang, Martin Shum, Liu Chin Hong and Jordi Lo successfully defend their title after blasting away a strong Kowloon Cricket Club team which was skipped by Ken Chan.  This was Lo’s fourth Fours title and ironically his first title was won together with Chan back in 2008.

Epoch Times Photo
The Craigengower Cricket Club team of (from left) Martin Shum, Imen Tang, Lui Chin Hong and Jordi Lo became the first team to defend the National Fours title since 1997. They defeated a strong Kowloon Cricket Club team 20:15 in the final last Sunday, July 1. (Stephanie Worth)

The CCC team are the first to defend the Fours title since 1997 when a HKFC team skipped by Bill McMahon completed their mission.

The inaugural Weekday Fours was won by a Tuen Mun Sports Association team of Diamond Wong, TS Yam, Sunny Chan and Yu Hon Ming who defeated Filipino Club 24:11 in the final.

Results Roundup for the Finals Day on July 1, 2018

Men National Pairs

Kowloon Cricket Club (Jerry Ng, Arthur Lam) bt Craigengower Cricket Club (Oscar Adem, Stanley Lai) 23:10

Women National Pairs

Hong Kong Football Club (Dorothy Yu, Vivian Yip) bt Pilipino Club (Erica Leung, Joanne Leung)  15:12

Men National Fours

Craigengower Cricket Club (Imen Tang, Martin Shum, Liu Chin Hong, Jordi Lo) bt Kowloon Cricket Club (Bernard Leung, Eric Yim, Chadwick Chen, Ken Chan)  20:15

Women National Fours

Hong Kong Football Club (Josephine Lam, Connie Chung, Rita Shek, Wanis Sze) bt Craigengower Cricket Club (Andrea Chan, Angel So, Olivia Yu, Helen Cheung)  14:12

Men Novice Singles

Filipino Club (Stephen Yeung) bt Kowloon Cricket Club (Bosco Li)  21:15

Women Novice Singles

Island Lawn Bowls Club (Phoebe Chiu) bt Shatin Sports Association (Dolphin Kwan)    21:10

Mixed Pairs

Hong Kong Football Club (Dorothy Yu, CT Wong) bt Golden Bauhinia Lawn Bowls Club (Joanne Yim, Henry Tong)  19:16

Mixed Fours

Craigengower Cricket Club (Bronson Fung, Angel So, Kevin Fung, Lee Ka Ho) bt Hong Kong Football Club (Yumi Wong, Stephen Chan, Frankie Siu, Terence Lee)  18:13

Weekday Fours

Tuen Mun Sports Association (Diamond Wong, TS Yam, Sunny Chan, Yu Hon Ming) bt Filipino Club (Rachel Ng, Daphne Yeung, Li Ming Sum, Chan Chow Wing)  24:11

This week in Lawn Bowls

The Premier league continues this coming Saturday July 7, with matches for Divisions 7, 8 and 9 starting at 2:30pm.   These will be the last games before the summer break.

Claudius Lam is an officer of the Hong Kong Lawn Bowls Association

Claudius Lam