GOP Candidate Marjorie Taylor Greene Wins Georgia Seat

November 3, 2020 Updated: November 3, 2020

A controversial Republican Candidate Marjorie Taylor Greene won Georgia’s 14th District in an uncontested race on Tuesday.

Her Democratic challenger, Kevin Van Ausdal, withdrew from the race in September for personal reasons, leaving Greene a clear path to winning one of the five vacant House seats.

On Nov. 1, Greene said she must be doing something right because she has made all the right enemies. “The Fake News Media HATES me. Big Tech CENSORS me. The DC Swamp FEARS me. I’m running to be @realDonaldTrump’s STRONGEST ally in Congress. Too much is at stake. Vote Tuesday. SAVE AMERICA. STOP SOCIALISM. DEFEAT THE DEMOCRATS!”

The newly elected GOP representative has been criticized over a number of statements including her support for the QAnon conspiracy, once claiming QAnon is a “once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to take this global cabal of Satan-worshiping pedophiles out.”

In September, the House passed a resolution condemning “all other groups and ideologies that contribute to the spread of unfounded conspiracy theories” including QAnon.

The group grew into a large underground movement with a number of splinter groups and sometimes claims that members of the world’s social, economic, and political elites have engaged in child sex trafficking, abuse, and cannibalism.

Greene also faced backlash for a Facebook post of an image of herself holding a gun alongside images of Democratic Reps. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, and Rashida Tlaib, writing “we need strong conservative Christians to go on the offense against these socialists who want to rip our country apart.” The social media giant removed the photo the following day, saying it violated their policies.

Greene won her district’s primary race in August, receiving 57 percent of the vote and a chance to replace the retiring Rep. Tom Graves.

There were 5 vacancies in the House including Reps. Duncan Hunter Jr. (R-Calif.), Mark Meadows (R-N.C.), John Ratcliffe (R-Texas), Tom Graves (R-GA.), and John Lewis (D-Ga.). The current House breakdown is 430 members, with 232 Democrats, 197 Republicans, and 1 libertarian, Justin Amash (L-Mi.).