‘Fallout 4’? Survivor 2299 Website Posts New Codes; Still Not Clear if Viral Hoax

December 2, 2013 Updated: December 4, 2013

The Survivor 2299 website, which some believe is a viral marketing campaign to promote the yet-to-be announced Fallout 4, posted new coded messages over the weekend.

The website had a countdown saying that something would happen over the weekend, but there wasn’t anything except for new garbled code, leading a few websites to say the whole thing is a hoax.

“KVNGR REV ALPHA PPS VT PIZ UHMYLPVOQ CM XHWMZP. NBJB SPI’F BYQS QT D’Y BYFGEOB FI VQDYL MAQ. -NGQHT 5120- Nuclear winter has come,” reads the new code that’s been on the website as of Monday evening.

On the sub-Reddit /r/Fallout, users decoded the message, which reads: “THE INSTITUTE IS SEALED. THEY WON’T HELP US I’M HEADING TO BLACK ROW. -TBNLS 5120-”

“The Institute” is apparently in reference to an entity mentioned in the Fallout 3 games. Dr. Zimmer, a Fallout 3 NPC, talks about “the sealed environment of the Institute,” according to the Escapist. However, the meaning or context isn’t clear.

The website said that the morse code messages have changed about three times since Dec. 1. One of the translated messages reads, “Calling Black Row Out Station ground is safe to land Level 4 breach. No survivors, 899 corpses. We are leaving Vault 119. Over, back to you.” Another also says, “Calling all stations, calling all stations, calling all stations, This is Vault 119 SOS level 4 under attack, Overseer is Dead, Repeat, SOS level 4 under attack, Overseer is Dead, We won’t make it,” according to Inc Gamers.

The “Overseer” or “Vault Overseer” has been mentioned since as far back as the first Fallout game in 1997. In the original game, the Overseer asks the Vault Dweller to scour the outside wasteland of Southern California to find a water chip replacement.

The Survivor 2299 site also includes the Vault-Tec logo at the bottom of the page.

Even though the website adds an interesting twist to the Fallout franchise, it’s unclear if it’s even real.

Kotaku.com, in an article last week, outlined a few points that suggest the whole thing is fake. Some of the reasons are that the site counted down to the wrong date for the Spike video game award show later this month, software publisher Bethesda hasn’t said anything, and it noted inconsistencies between the Survivor 2299 website and other websites that have been registered by Bethesda.

“The server is configured differently, the domain names were registered through GoDaddy instead of ZeniMax’s usual service, Corporate Domains Inc, and a reverse lookup on the IP leads you to a company in Poland, oddly enough,” it reads. ZeniMax is the owner of Bethesda.