A viral e-mail post is claiming that the popular Facebook Look Back video feature is “the work of a hacker,” but that’s just a rumor.
It’s entirely possible for someone to have created a fake webpage designed to look like the Look Back Facebook page in order to phish users’ personal information, but there’s not any evidence of this yet.
The e-mail claims: “I heard that the new ‘celebrate Facebook’s 10 year anniversary’ by allowing Facebook to use your photos and posts to make a montage on your timeline is the work of a hacker and not Facebook. This allows the hacker to gain access to your computer and sensitive information. Is this true?”
The Look Back feature has been confirmed by Facebook and it’s been implemented on the website. One can access it by going to one’s Look Back page.
Users will initially see their own videos in the section, but they can share the videos on their page for others to see.
The feature allows people to look back at the past decade as part of Facebook’s 10th anniversary. It automatically makes a 1-minute video of a user’s Facebook posts and pictures.