England vs Sri Lanka 2014 T20 World Cup Cricket: England Wins by Six Wickets

March 27, 2014 Updated: July 18, 2015

England takes on Sri Lanka in the 2014 T20 World Cup cricket tournament on March 27.

UPDATE: England won by six wickets, bouncing back after the opening loss to New Zealand that was cut short by rain.

Next, England takes on South Africa on March 29 while Sri Lanka will play New Zealand again on March 31. See a full schedule here.

———-Original story below

The match is set for a 1:30 p.m. GMT start time (7 p.m. IST).

It’s being played at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong, Bangladesh.

The match will be broadcast on SKY Sports in England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland; Eurosport in the rest of Europe; and CSN in Sri Lanka.

It will also be shown on STAR Sports in the rest of the Indian Sub-Continent (India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Maldives, Bhutan); PTV in Pakistan; Lemar TV in Afghanistan; Astro in Malaysia and Brunei; Star Cricket in Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Hong Kong, and the Philippines;  Supersport in South Africa and Sub Saharan Africa; and OSN Sport Cricket in North Africa and the Middle East.

It will also be shown on Fox Sports in Australia; SKY TV in New Zealand; Fiji TV in the Pacific Islands; and on ESPN3 in the Caribbean, South America, Central America, Mexico, and the United States.

Live streaming for some games in the tournament is available on Sky’s Now TV app, StarSports.com, WatchESPN, PTV.com, SuperSport.com, and MTVsports.lk. Some of the live streaming is only available in one country or region.


Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardena plays a shot during their ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup match against Netherlands in Chittagong, Bangladesh, Monday, March 24, 2014. (AP Photo/A.M. Ahad)

Sri Lanka is coming off two wins to start the tournament–one by five runs over South Africa and the other by two runs over New Zealand. 

England lost its first and only match so far to New Zealand by nine runs.

See squads below.


Stuart Broad (captain), Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Michael Lumb, Moeen Ali, Eoin Morgan, Stephen Parry, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, James Tredwell, Luke Wright

Sri Lanka: 

Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jayawardena, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Kumar Sangakkara, Sachithra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne

Follow Zachary on Twitter: @zackstieber