Dakar Rally 2014 Returns After Rest Day; Nikolaev, Barreda, Casale Win

January 12, 2014 Updated: July 18, 2015

The Dakar Rally 2014 got back underway on January 12 after a two day break, with race dates and TV coverage continuing through January 18.

The rest day in Salta enabled racers to tune-up and get a little back into shape. 

Eduard Nikolaev, the reigning truck class champion, won the 326 mile (525 kilometer) loop, looking to defend his title.

Gerard De Rooy got second and leads the truck race in overall classification. 

The bike and quad races were in Bolivia for the first time.

Joan Barreda clocked the quickest time in a Honda, while Marc Coma, the overall race leader in the bikes, got second place. Cyril Despres, a five-time Dakar champion, got in third.

In the quad race, Ignacio Casale got first, and now is on top of the rankings.

Sergio Lafuente is second and Rafal Sonik is third.


Follow Zachary on Twitter: @zackstieber