Cardinals Dominate Gold Glove Award Honorees

By Field Level Media
Field Level Media
Field Level Media
November 8, 2021 Updated: November 8, 2021

The St. Louis Cardinals dominated the Rawlings Gold Glove Award announcements on Sunday, becoming the first team to have five players win at their positions in the same season.

No other team had more than two representatives.

Leading the way for the Cardinals was third baseman Nolan Arenado, who won for the ninth straight time in his first season in St. Louis. He spent the first eight years of his career with the Colorado Rockies.

First baseman Paul Goldschmidt (four-time winner), left fielder Tyler O’Neill (second time), second baseman Tommy Edman, and center fielder Harrison Bader (first-timers) were the Cardinals’ other honorees.

The only non-Cardinal in the infield was San Francisco Giants shortstop Brandon Crawford, who won for the fourth time.

The Atlanta Braves had two representatives, pitcher Max Fried (his second Gold Glove), and right fielder Adam Duvall (his first), who began his season with the Miami Marlins.

Another first-time winner, catcher Jacob Stallings of the Pittsburgh Pirates, rounded out the NL.

In the American League, the Houston Astros, Oakland Athletics, and the Kansas City Royals each had two winners, although the player to win the most times was Chicago White Sox left-hander Dallas Keuchel, who took home his fifth award.

Third baseman Matt Chapman of the A’s won for the third time, and teammate Sean Murphy was honored at catcher.

The only other AL player to pick up multiple Gold Gloves was right fielder Joey Gallo, who divided his season between the Texas Rangers and New York Yankees.

The Astros’ two winners were first-timers Yuli Gurriel at first base and Carlos Correa at shortstop. The two Royals, also first-time honorees, were left fielder Andrew Benintendi and center fielder Michael A. Taylor.

Filling out the AL field was second baseman Marcus Semien, a longtime shortstop who changed positions upon signing with the Toronto Blue Jays in January. It was Semien’s first Gold Glove.

National League

1B—Paul Goldschmidt, Cardinals
2B—Tommy Edman, Cardinals
3B—Nolan Arenado, Cardinals
SS—Brandon Crawford, Giants
LF—Tyler O’Neill, Cardinals
CF—Harrison Bader, Cardinals
RF—Adam Duvall, Marlins-Braves
C—Jacob Stallings, Pirates
P—Max Fried, Braves

American League

1B—Yuli Gurriel, Astros
2B—Marcus Semien, Blue Jays
3B—Matt Chapman, Athletics
SS—Carlos Correa, Astros
LF—Andrew Benintendi, Royals
CF—Michael A. Taylor, Royals
RF—Joey Gallo, Rangers-Yankees
C—Sean Murphy, Athletics
P—Dallas Keuchel, White Sox