Canadian Screen Awards: Television and Digital Media Gala (Photo Gallery)

March 5, 2014 Updated: July 18, 2015

TORONTO—The best of Canadian television and digital media was celebrated on Tuesday night at the Canadian Screen Awards during a special gala presentation at Toronto’s Sheraton Centre.

Comedian Steve Patterson hosted the gala, which honoured 47 artists in the categories of News & Sports, Documentary, Lifestyle, Reality and Digital Media.

“Our industry has gone through massive changes, entering into an age of digital media and continues to evolve into a multi-platform universe, and the Academy is proud to recognize the talented Canadians delivering excellence in television and digital media,” said Helga Stephenson, CEO of the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television.

A second gala will take place on Wednesday night honouring television talent in the categories of Drama, Comedy, Variety, Children’s, and Performing Arts.

The broadcast gala, hosted by comedian Martin Short, will be broadcast live on CBC on Sunday, March 9 at 8:30pm from the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts. 

Actor Jason Priestley (Call me Fitz), George Stroumboulopoulos (George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight), and Arisa Cox (Big Brother Canada) will be among the celebrity presenters. 

Director David Cronenberg will be honoured with the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award. His friend and long-time collaborator actor Viggo Mortensen will present the award. 

For a full list of Canadian Screen Awards nominees and winners, please visit: