British Grand Prix 2014 Date, Start Time for Formula 1 Race, Qualifying at Silverstone Circuit

The 2014 British Grand Prix at the Silverstone Circuit in the United Kingdom is slated for Sunday, July 6.

The race will start at 1 p.m. BST (8 a.m. EDT).

Qualifying will take place starting at the same time on July 5, while practice will take place on July 4 and July 5.

Lewis Hamilton will be looking to win after taking the race last year. Hamilton, with 139 points, is only behind fellow Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg (165 points) in the standings.

Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull is third with 83 points, Fernando Alonso of Ferrari is fourth with 79 points, and Sebastian Vettel of Red Bull is fifth with 60 points.

After the British Grand Prix there are two races on consecutive weekends. The German Grand Prix in Hockenheim will be on July 20 and the Hungarian Grand Prix in Budapest will be on July 27.

There will then be a long break until the Belgian Grand Prix in Spa-Francorchamps on August 24.

See an Associated Press update below.

Gutierrez gets 10-place Silverstone grid penalty 

SPIELBERG, Austria—Formula One’s governing body handed Sauber driver Esteban Gutierrez a 10-place grid penalty for the British Grand Prix on July 6 after a so-called unsafe release from the pits at the Austrian Grand Prix.

Gutierrez went back onto the pit-lane after his first stop while his mechanics were still working on his right rear wheel.

FIA gave the Mexican driver a 10-second stop-and-go penalty during the race and also decided to put him back in the starting order at Silverstone.

Follow Zachary on Twitter: @zackstieber