Bernhard Langer Named Champions Tour Player of the Year

By Field Level Media
Field Level Media
Field Level Media
January 20, 2022Updated: January 20, 2022

Bernhard Langer is the winner of the 2020-21 Jack Nicklaus Award as the Champions Tour’s Player of the Year.

The 64-year-old German posted 24 top-10 finishes, including two wins, en route to winning the Charles Schwab Cup for the sixth time and leading the tour in prize money ($3.25 million) for the eighth time.

Langer received Player of the Year honor at Tuesday night’s annual awards dinner in Hawaii.

“I’m humbled and surprised because our Tour is incredibly competitive, and there are many deserving candidates,” Langer said. “To earn this award through a vote by my fellow peers is very rewarding. These last two years have been challenging for all of us, but I set out at the beginning of 2020 to win the Charles Schwab Cup and to have the opportunity to lift that trophy again was very fulfilling.”

It was the ninth Jack Nicklaus Award for Langer, the most in tour history.

Jim Furyk was named the senior tour’s Rookie of the Year and also took home the Byron Nelson Award for posting the best scoring average (68.84) on the circuit.