Donald Trump Wins Time’s Person of the Year: Here’s Who Else Was Considered

December 7, 2016 Updated: December 7, 2016

President-elect Donald Trump was named Time’s Person of the Year, with the magazine’s editor saying it wasn’t a hard choice.

“When have we ever seen a single individual who has so defied exceptions, broken the rules, violated norms, beaten, not one, but two political parties on the way to winning an election he entered with 100-1 odds against him?” Nancy Gibbs asked on the “Today” show.

No. 2 was Hillary Clinton, Trump’s Democratic Party rival. Other people Time considered are American gold medal-winning gymnast Simone Biles, Indian PM Narendra Modi, Turkish leader Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Beyonce, Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg, Russian President Vladimir Putin, U.K. “Brexit” architect Nigel Farage, CRISPR scientists, and “the Whistleblowers of Flint, Michigan.”

“To be on the cover of Time as Person of the Year is a tremendous honor,” Trump told Matt Lauer of “Today.”

However, he took issue with the Time cover saying he is president of the “Divided States of America.”

“When you say ‘divided states of America,’ I didn’t divide them,” Trump said on the show. “They’re divided now, there’s a lot of division. And we’re going to put it back together.”

Time has been naming its Person of the Year annually since 1927 (before 1999, it was called Man of the Year). Controversial figures such as communist tyrant Joseph Stalin and German dictator Adolf Hitler were named as well.

Last year’s recipient was German Chancellor Angela Merkel. In 2014, it was the “Ebola fighters” and in 2013, it was Pope Francis. President Obama took the title in 2012, “The Protester” was named the title in 2011, and Facebook’s Zuckerberg was named in 2010.