World of Warcraft Warlords of Draenor Release Date News: Blizzard to Announce WoW Expansion Launch Date on Aug. 14

Blizzard will be announcing the official release date for the next World of Warcraft (WoW) expansion next week.

In a recent blog post, Blizzard said that WoW: Warlords of Draenor will be announced via a special event at Ace Theatre in Los Angeles on Thursday, August 14 at 12:30 p.m. EDT (9:30 a.m. PDT). Doors will be opened at 11:30 a.m. EDT (8:30 a.m. PDT).

The event will also be streamed live on WorldofWarcraft.com.

Those who do show up for the event will be given a free beta key for Warlords of Draenor.

Blizzard executives Mike Morhaime and Chris Metzen, as well as designers Ion Hazzikostas and Brian Holinka, will be at the event to take questions, announce the release date, and debut the first episode of Lords of War, an animated Blizzard lore mini-series.

Warlords of Draenor is the fifth expansion in the World of Warcraft Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game (MMORPG) series.

The first expansion was The Burning Crusade (2007), followed by the Wrath of the Lich King (2008), Cataclysm (2010), and most recently, Mists of Pandaria (2012).

Warlords of Draenor is in closed beta now, and according to Blizzard

This phase of the beta test focuses on the Tanaan Jungle starting experience and allows players to continue on into Shadowmoon Valley (Alliance) and Frostfire Ridge (Horde). High-level content will become available for testing in future updates. Level-90 character templates are available if you’d like to try a new character, or you can copy over your own high-level characters.”

RECOMMENDED