Women’s Rugby World Cup Final Stages

August 23, 2017 Updated: August 23, 2017

Ireland— The Women’s Rugby World Cup, having moved from Dublin to Belfast, is now progressing through the semi-final and playoff stages of the tournament. After completion of the Pool matches the 12 teams were separated into 3 groups of 4. The top group contesting for places 1-4, the second group playing for positions 5-8 and the 3rd group for positions 9-12.

The top Group comprises New Zealand, England, USA and France; the second Group comprises Canada, Wales, Ireland and Australia, and the 3rd Group comprises Italy, Japan, Spain and Hong Kong.

In the semi-finals played last Tuesday New Zealand defeated USA 45-12, England overcame France 20-3, Australia won against Ireland, Canada white washed Wales 52-0, and in the lower group Italy beat Japan 20-0 and Spain outplayed Hong Kong 31-7. 

The line-up therefore for the final round matches is England against New Zealand for the Championship, USA play France for 3rd place, Australia contest with Canada for 5th place, Ireland play Wales for 7th place, Italy play Spain for 9th place, and Japan play Hong Kong for 11th place. These playoff matches will take place in Belfast this coming Saturday, Aug 26, 2017.