search icon

Superman: Electric Earthquake (1942)

A mad scientist attempts to blow up Manhattan. Lois Lane investigates and Superman saves the day.

Animation by Steve Muffati and Arnold Gillespie
Story by Seymour Kneitel and Isadore Sparber
Music by Sammy Timberg
Produced in 1942

Electric Earthquake is the seventh of the 17 animated Technicolor short films based on the DC Comics character of Superman, originally created by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster. This animated short was created by Fleischer Studios. The story runs for about eight minutes and covers Superman’s adventures in stopping a madman from destroying Manhattan with electronically induced earthquakes. It was originally released on May 15, 1942. This is the first of the films to make it clear that the action is taking place in New York City.

Credit: Public Domain Movies

* Click the “Save” button below the video to access it later on “My List.”

Feature Films:

Cinema collection:
Epoch Original content:
Feature Films:

Follow EpochTV on social media:

Truth Social:


Read More