Solar Eclipse to Dawn This Sunday

May 18, 2012 Updated: October 1, 2015

Live feeds of the annular solar eclipse from telescopes in Japan, California, Utah, and New Mexico will be available at our Science section on May 20. The feeds will start at 2:30 p.m. PDT/5:30 p.m. EDT/21:30 UTC and will last for about three hours.

Epoch Times Photo
The path of the ring-shaped solar eclipse spans from China to western Texas, across the Pacific Ocean. (NASA)

In the evening of Sunday, May 20, a ring-shaped solar eclipse will be visible from within a narrow corridor along the northern hemisphere from China to Texas, according to NASA.

The solar eclipse, which is expected to take place at the moon’s descending node in central Taurus, will begin in southern China at 10:06 p.m. GMT (6:06 a.m. local time Monday). The eclipse will then become visible for five minutes beginning at 10:32 p.m. GMT (7:32 a.m. local time) to over 10 million residents in Tokyo’s metropolitan area. 

The eclipse will then travel across the Pacific Ocean, a voyage that should last a good two hours before it finally reaches land along the coastlines of southern Oregon and northern California at 1:26 a.m. GMT (5:26 p.m. local time Sunday). The eclipse path also includes Central Nevada, southern Utah, and northern Arizona. 

The eclipse will be visible for 4.5 minutes in New Mexico starting at 1:34 a.m. GMT (6:34 p.m. local time). The eclipse will end its track above western Texas. The entire process lasts for 3.5 hours, covering approximately 13.600 kilometers or 8,450 miles. 

The next solar eclipse will be a full solar eclipse, taking place on Nov. 13, 2012. It will be visible to the South Pacific, southern Latin America, and part of Antarctica.

Learn more about the solar eclipse, when and how it view it, and see a video of a past Annular eclipse here.