Move Over Law

June 4, 2018 Last Updated: June 4, 2018

Nader Chehadi a Michigan tow truck operator was working on a school bus when he was hit and killed by a passing SUV.

“We’ve also lost tow operator Scott Boles of Killeen, Officer Charles Whites of the Round Rock Police Department,” said Tasha Mora, co-owner of A&A Wrecker and Recovery.

The state’s Move Over/Slow Down law first went into effect on Sept. 1, 2013. It requires drivers to yield to police, fire and emergency vehicles, and Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) workers. Drivers must move over—move out of the lane closest to the emergency vehicle when possible or slow down—reduce their speed to 20 miles per hour below the posted limit. On roadways with posted speed limits of 25 miles per hour or less, drivers must reduce their speed to 5 miles per hour. Violators can be fined up to $2,000, according to the Department of Transportation.

“Too many motorists do not know what’s considered a first responder, who’s protected under the law. Towers are protected under the law,” said Mora.

Mora has family in the towing business and is one of the many who came out last Friday to support American Towman’s Spirit Ride.

“Although this law has been on the books for some time now, we still have motorists who violate the law,” said Mora during the traveling memorial that has a procession with a casket symbolizing the first responders’ lives that were lost. “But worse than them violating the law and receiving a fine, they have killed tow operators, first responders, and roadway workers.”

“We call out to all motorists, give us room to work. Would any person work at a desk where his or her back is at the edge of a cliff with no safety net?” said Mike Corbin, American Towman Spirit Ride ambassador.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 71 percent of Americans don’t even know about the Move Over law. Tasha Mora hopes the Spirit Ride can change that, one city at a time.