Hong Kong Occupy Central Nov. 5-6 Live Blog, Photos, Videos: Police Clear Protesters in Mong Kok, Violence Used

November 5, 2014 2:09 pm Last Updated: June 24, 2015 7:59 pm

Hong Kong police were trying to clear out Occupy Central protesters in Mong Kok late Wednesday, Nov. 5.

At about 10 p.m. HKT (9 a.m. EST), police were spotted massing at the Mong Kok protest site.

The police were probably there to keep an eye on the protesters who were holding a Million Mask March to commemorate Nov. 5, Guy Fawkes day.

Donning “V for Vendetta” Guy Fawkes masks and holding mini “Lion Rock” banners with the words “I want genuine universal suffrage” written on them, the protesters carried out a “Million Masks March” under the watchful gaze of the Hong Kong police.

Seemingly without warning, the police moved in on the student protesters on Argyle Street at about 12 a.m. HKT (11 a.m. EST), Nov. 6.

There were also a number of unconfirmed reports about police making arrests.

MORE: WATCH: More Than 10 Hong Kong Police Violently Nab Protester in Mong Kok on Nov. 6

Epoch Times photographer Ben Chasteen says that the police were rather tense to begin with due to the “Millions Mask March.”

The standoff was sparked after a photographer’s flash went off in Mong Kok. Policemen pulled the photographer over and arrested him, which then agitated the masked crowd.

After some shouting, things escalated into yet another police-protester confrontation.

See below for the live blog. All times are in Hong Kong Time, which is 11 hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time.

Updates to follow, check back shortly for the latest on the ground in Mong Kok.

Nov. 6

3:00 — 6:00 a.m.

1:00 a.m. — 3:00 a.m.

SocREC 社會記錄頻道 – Photos from SocREC 社會記錄頻道’s post | Facebook

 

12:00 a.m. — 1:00 a.m.