‘General Hospital’ Wins Big at Daytime Emmy Awards

June 25, 2012 Updated: October 1, 2015
Epoch Times Photo
The cast and producers of General Hospital accept the award for Outstanding Drama Series onstage at the 39th Annual Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on June 23, 2012 in Beverly Hills, California. (Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

ABC’s longest-running soap opera “General Hospital” garnered five awards at the 39th annual Daytime Emmy Awards in a sold-out gala of over 1,000 attendees at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, Los Angeles.

The show won best drama for a record 11th time; actor Anthony Geary won best lead drama actor for a record seventh time; Nancy Grahn won for best supporting actress; Jonathan Jackson won best supporting actor; and the show’s directors also won best directing team.

The 80-year-old Regis Philbin, who aired his final episode of Live with Regis and Kelly before retiring on Nov. 18, 2011, received his last honor as the show won best entertainment talk show for the first time. Before Philbin retired, he often talked about the show never winning an Emmy.

The Daytime Emmy Awards recognized outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television production and were presented to individuals and programs broadcast from 2 a.m. to 6 p.m. during the 2011 calendar year.

Despite the Emmy’s having proceeded on schedule, police were just at the famed hotel on Friday investigating the deaths of two people in what appeared to be a murder-suicide.

Below is a list of the evening’s winners.

Outstanding Drama Series
General Hospital, ABC *WINNER
All My Children, ABC
Days of Our Lives, NBC
The Young and the Restless, CBS

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Anthony Geary, as Luke Spencer on General Hospital *WINNER
Maurice Benard, as Michael “Sonny” Corinthos, Jr. on General Hospital
John McCook, as Eric Forrester on The Bold and the Beautiful
Darnell Williams, as Jesse Hubbard on All My Children
Robert S. Woods, as Bo Buchanan on One Life to Live

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Heather Tom, as Katie Logan Spencer on The Bold and the Beautiful *WINNER

Crystal Chappell, as Dr. Carly Manning on Days of our Lives
Debbi Morgan, as Angie Hubbard on All My Children
Erika Slezak, as Viki Lord on One Life to Live
Laura Wright, as Carly Corinthos Jacks on General Hospital

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Jonathan Jackson, as Lucky Spencer on General Hospital *WINNER
Bradford Anderson, as Damien Spinelli on General Hospital
Matthew Ashford, as Jack Deveraux on Days of our Lives
Sean Blakemore, as Shawn Butler on General Hospital
Jason Thompson, as Patrick Drake on General Hospital

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Nancy Lee Grahn, as Alexis Davis on General Hospital *WINNER
Melissa Claire Egan, as Annie Chandler on All My Children
Genie Francis, as Genevieve Atkinson on The Young and the Restless
Elizabeth Hendrickson, as Chloe Mitchell on The Young and the Restless
Rebecca Herbst, as Elizabeth Webber on General Hospital

Outstanding Younger Actor in a Drama Series
Chandler Massey, as Will Horton on Days of Our Lives *WINNER
Eddie Alderson, as Matthew Buchanan on One Life To Live
Chad Duell, as Michael Corinthos on General Hospital
Nathan Parsons, as Ethan Lovett on General Hospital

Outstanding Younger Actress in a Drama Series
Christel Khalil, as Lily Winters on The Young and the Restless *WINNER
Molly Burnett, as Melanie Layton on Days of our Lives
Shelley Hennig, as Stephanie Johnson on Days of our Lives
Jacqueline Macinnes Wood, as Steffy Forrester on The Bold and the Beautiful

Outstanding Culinary Program
Bobby Flay’s Barbecue Addiction, Food Network *WINNER
Giada At Home, Food Network
Guy’s Big Bite, Food Network
Sandwich King, Food Network

Outstanding Culinary/Lifestyle Host
Sandra Lee, Semi-Homemade Cooking with Sandra Lee *WINNER
Diada de Laurentis, Giada at Home
Rick Bayless, Mexico—One Plate at a Time with Rick Bayless
Nate Berkus, The Nate Berkus Show
Paula Deen, Paula’s Best Dishes

Outstanding Talk Show/Entertainment
Live with Regis and Kelly, syndicated *WINNER
The Ellen DeGeneres Show, syndicated
The Talk, CBS
The View, ABC

Outstanding Talk Show/Informative
The Dr. Oz Show, syndicated *WINNER
Anderson, syndicated
The Doctors, syndicated

Outstanding Talk Show Host
Regis Philbin & Kelly Ripa *WINNER
Anderson Cooper
Dr. Mehmet Oz
The Doctors (entire cast)

Outstanding Morning Program
Good Morning America, ABC

Outstanding Legal/Courtroom Program
Last Shot with Judge Gunn, syndicated *WINNER
America’s Court with Judge Ross, syndicated
Judge Joe Brown, syndicated
We the People with Gloria Allred, syndicated

Outstanding Game/Audience Participation Show
Jeopardy! syndicated *WINNER
BrainSurge, Nickelodeon
Cash Cab, Discovery Channel
Let’s Make A Deal, CBS
Wheel of Fortune, syndicated
Who Wants To Be a Millionaire, syndicated

Outstanding Game Show Host
Todd Newton, Family Game Night *WINNER
Ben Bailey, Cash Cab
Wayne Brady, Let’s Make a Deal
Meredith Vieira, Who Wants to Be a Millionaire

Outstanding Children’s Animated Program
Penguins of Madagascar, Nickelodeon *WINNER
Curious George, PBS
Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness, Nickelodeon
Peep & The Big Wide World, American Public Television
Sid the Science Kid, PBS
SpongeBob SquarePants, Nickelodeon

Outstanding Performance in a Children’s Series
Kevin Clash, as Elmo on Sesame Street *WINNER
Dakota Goyo, as Josh on R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour The Series
Leslie Carrara-Rudolph, as Abby Cadaby, on Sesame Street
Caroll Spinney, as Big Bird on Sesame Street

The Epoch Times publishes in 35 countries and in 19 languages. Subscribe to our e-newsletter.