• With the launch of Epoch Taste, we are putting our name “Epoch” on a medium that we believe has done nothing short of transforming society, be it in the humblest—yet often most delicious—ways.

    Visit Website
  • We are Epoch Inspired, an offshoot from our parent site: Epoch Times. There’s not many of us, but we have a lot to share with you.

    Visit Website
  • Good news travels fast. That’s why Epoch Media Group is the world’s fastest growing global media network.

    Visit Website

Murray Mclachlan – ‘Aspirations, Piano Music of Marcus Blunt’

(Divine Art)

A relatively unknown composer, though most will recognise Murray Mc Lachlan, this is an interesting re-release of Blunt’s key compositions. Dissonant yet strangely lyrical the music is thoughtful and reflective. Despite referencing several key composers of the fin de siècle (Scriabin, Faure) it is the composers he doesn’t mention that seem most reminiscent.

Debussy’s ‘La Mer’ shines through the ‘Iona Prelude and Caprice’ and Boulez’s ‘Piano Sonata No. 2’ in the ‘Sonata No. 1 Fantasia’. The playing as expected from McLachlan is sensitive and subtly interpretive making for a great listen. Yet there’s just too much homage and not enough innovation.

3 stars