Hong Kong Occupy Central Live Stream and Blog: Day 27 (Oct. 24)
Hong Kong Occupy Central Live Stream and Blog: Day 27 (Oct. 24)

Follow the latest developments from the Occupy Central movement in Hong Kong. See prior events here.

23:45 HKT [11:45 EDT] Xi Jinping AND Totoro have joined Occupy Central, according to Photoshop. 

2150 HKT [0950 EDT] Captain America may have been arrested earlier, but Spiderman shows up in Mong Kok to take his place. More signs of “foreign interference?”

21:03 HKT [09:03 EDT] 

19:29 HKT [07:29 EDT] A mainland girl comes to offer her support. 

18:00 HKT [06:00 EDT] The “I want real universal suffrage” banner shows up in more places.

14:40 HKT [02:40 EDT] “Captain America” is arrested.

13:38 HKT [01:38 EDT] The banner on Lion Rock has been removed. 

01:00 HKT [13:00 EDT] The “Spiderman” who put up huge (20 x 92 feet [6 x 28 meters]) “I want real universal suffrage” yellow banner declares that that he won’t take it down.

“The people fighting for real universal suffrage all over Hong Kong have shown great perseverance,” the “Spiderman” said in a video.

“This kind of fighting against injustice, strength in the face of troubles, is the true Lion Rock spirit.”

 

00:15 HKT [12:15 EDT] Tung Chee-hwa, the first Chief Executive of Hong Kong in 1997, tells the protesters to “go home,” that their occupation will hurt Hong Kong’s economy, and that Beijing’s election plan for Hong Kong is “genuinely democratic.”

Tung also showed his support for incumbent Chief Executive CY Leung.

“What he is looking for is a peaceful ending to the occupation, he is very calm and rational in dealing with this issue,” he said.

“During this time where there are many risks, I feel he has performed very well and has also gained the trust of the Chinese government.”

Tung doesn’t think that Beijing will send in the military to quash the protests because the Chinese Communist regime has faith in the Hong Kong police.

00:00 HKT [12:00 EDT] A new day begins.

 

× close
Top