Hong Kong Quadrangular Hockey Tournament


By David Bryceson
Epoch Times Staff
Created: December 12, 2012 Last Updated: December 12, 2012
Related articles: Sports » Hockey
Print E-mail to a friend Give feedback

International field hockey teams will be competing against a Hong Kong representative team in the 6th Hong Kong Quadrangular Hockey Tournament that begins on Wednesday.

Hosted by the Hong Kong Hockey Association from Dec 12 to 16 at the King’s Park Hockey Ground, the tournament features men’s teams from Guangdong, Tianjin and Batu Pahat (Malaysia), along with the Hong Kong representative team competing for this year’s title.

These four teams include many international representative players: Batu Pahat includes Megat Azrafiq (who has 130 international caps), S Selvaraju (87) and Baljit Singh (60); Tianjin has Li Wei (298); Guangdong has Lu Feng-hui (100) and Liu Xian-tang (100); and Hong Kong has Arif Ali (88) and Jasbir Singh Chhina (62).

First held in 2006, the tournament has been run in 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011, with club teams or provincial teams from China and other Asian countries invited to participate.

Last year, the tournament was held for Under-21 players as they prepared for the Under-21 AHF Cup, with Chinese Taipei beating Hong Kong in the Final. Macau and Yunfu came third and last, respectively. Next year the tournament will be a women’s competition.

The Final will be held on Sunday Dec 16 at 4.30 pm.

The Epoch Times publishes in 35 countries and in 19 languages. Subscribe to our e-newsletter.



Selected Topics from The Epoch Times

C W  Ellis